

## **Elector Representation Review**

## SECTION 12 OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1999

This document is provided to assist community members to make a submission to Council regarding the key issues being addressed under the current elector representation review. Interested persons should take the opportunity to read the Representation Options Paper prior to making a submission; and are encouraged to provide any additional relevant comments.

Please ✓ where appropriate.

## 1. PRINCIPAL MEMBER:

Section 51 of the Local Government Act currently indicates that a Council may have a mayor (elected

by the community) or a chairperson (selected by, and from amongst, the elected members) as its principal member.
Should the principal member of Council be a mayor or a chairperson (with the title of mayor)?
Mayor Chairperson
2. NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS:
The Yorke Peninsula Council has long comprised a total of eleven councillors.
How many councillors are required to provide fair and adequate representation to the electors within the Yorke Peninsula Council ?
11 Councillors 9 Councillors Other (Please specify number)
3. WARDS/NO WARDS:
The Yorke Peninsula Council is currently divided into three wards. This structure was adopted by Council during the elector representation review that was undertaken in 2012/2013 and came into effect at the 2014 Local Government elections.
Should Council retain a ward structure or abolish wards?
Wards No Wards

## 4. WARD STRUCTURE OPTIONS: Which (if any) of the ward structure options presented in the Representation Options Paper is your preference? Option 1: Option 4: Option 2: Option 3: **Current Ward** 11 Councillors, 10 Councillors, 9 Councillors, Structure 3 Wards 3 Wards 3 Wards Option 5: Option 6: Other 9 Councillors. **No Wards** 3 Wards If you answered 'Other', what is your preferred ward structure configuration? 5. WARD NAMES: If the Yorke Peninsula Council were to continue to be divided into wards, what would be suitable ward names? 6. OTHER COMMENTS:

Please return completed form to:

Name:

Chief Executive Officer, Yorke Peninsula Council PO Box 57, MAITLAND, SA 5573

by close of business on Friday 12th February, 2021.

Information regarding the Representation Review can be obtained by contacting Mary Herrmann, Governance Officer on telephone 8832 0000 or email admin@yorke.sa.gov.au